Microsoft and Google and My Career

I think a person entering the workforce with a CS background kinda has to pick a “technology” to be very prosperous in their career.  I think Microsoft is doing great things at their company, many great things.  I’m also intrigued my Google, they are also doing some great work.

I think Google and MSFT should be battling each other.  Our industry is about people working together and agreeing upon standards, whether it is a simple standard like a manual process a user performs or the Doc X format (something like Open Office Documents is the official name) it is all about standards.

For benefit of my direct career I think I would be more prosperous if they worked together more than dismissed one another.  It is simple to me, break it down like any other “problem” that CS people solve, start with step 1 and proceed to N.  In order for me to be productive I must have a good set of tools.  If Microsoft and Google don’t play nicely together my tools will suffer and therefore me.

So Please Microsoft revaluate you position on Google.  As I know more about MSFT I can talk more about them, I get the impression they seem them as a direct competitor but I do not believe that is the case.  I would submit that there is overlap and competition for dollars but benefits of working together I think brings in more dollars in the end because software becomes more efficient, which in turn makes people more efficient.

 

 

Definitions as used above

Standard – Used in a very broad perspective.  An example would be my usage of N.  In obtaining my degree N was used specifically to represent the size or the number of elements.

Leave a Reply

