Visual Studio 2008 and Office Word 2007 Conflicts

I have Word documents attached to various projects but I have frequent lock up issues with the two of them open at the same time.  Last time this happened to me I ended Word, after 3 mins of waiting on save doc, and Visual Studio started to respond again.

General Steps to Cause Issue:

  1. Double click on a Word doc from the Solution Explorer
  2. Modify Doc
  3. Click Save in Word, at that point Word has a tendency to lock up

Workaround:

If I open Word doc via Explorer or Recent Docs in Word I don’t seem to have any trouble.

Leave a Reply

