Pull My Docs Out from under the Windows OS and See what Happens

Setup

  1. Redirect my documents (or Documents as of Vista I think) to a another harddrive than the OS.
  2. Remove this drive
    1. if it is a separate harddrive, turn the pc and unplug the data or power cable
    2. there would be other ways of achieving…

Tests

After the redirected path is not available

  • Open MSTSC – Remote desktop client – crashes
  • Open Live Writer, crashes
  • Open Jing, mine crashes, never tried on this PC but I suspect this is the reason
  • Try to redirect my documents back to a valid path now.    I couldn’t figure out how to do in Server 2K8 R2.  The only path I know is right click my documents, properties, location tab.  I’m sure it’s a reg key somewhere though.

Those are a few of the issues I’ve seen.

 

Leave a Reply

